Tags

lecture pass

Here’s my lecture pass: They didn’t put my name on it!

Five hours into MFAC and I already have a MUST READ book list that’s twenty novels long.

Here’s just a few:

Someday This Pain Will Be Useful to You, Peter Cameron

The Folk Keeper, Franny Billingsley

Marcelo and the Real World, Francisco X. Stork

Everything Leads to You, Nina LaCour

It’s Anne Ursu’s fault. She gave the first lecture on Point of View (POV), which included a multitude of POV examples from YA and Middle Grade novels.

Because these lectures are so involved, I’m only going to highlight my earth-exploding-that-totally-changed-the-way-I-see-writing moments from each lecture. AKA a BOOM Moment

Anne Ursu: “It all Depends on Your Point of View” BOOM:

Third person omniscient and limited POV are not black and white. What does that mean? Well, it means that you can start a book with a third person omniscient narrator and slowly move toward a third person limited narrator. In other words, start big picture and narrow in on your main character. Crazy.

Swati Avasthi: “Leveraging the First Person POV” BOOM:

When choosing a POV for your novel, ask yourself these questions:

  1. Whose story is it?
  2. Who has the most to lose?
  3. Who changes the most?
  4. Who has the agency to make change (or ability/resources)?

Easy questions to answer, right? Blurkerkhsudojfdskljlj

Seriously, though, I feel like trying to explain everything I learned in these lectures would be like trying to give you an ocean beach. It’s impossible. Those BOOM moments are literally grains of sand in comparison.

That’s all I have time for. I’m off to opening banquet where Ron Koetge, Laura Ruby, and Marsha Qualey are going to read!

More later!

